Vick Audio Overdriver

My quest to rid myself of the TS9 on my board has been a long a twisted journey resulting in many more adds then subtracts. I don’t know why I can’t stand the TS9 but it may be the fact that the tone setting on mine just never sounded right. I have tried to roll back the first and let it just be a straight boost pedal but it just never worked the right way.

I happened to come across this pedal on my ever endless kijiji ventures. I have to say I’m surprised by what I found and what I wound up getting. After a little bit of research I found that this pedal was made famous by its use by Gilmour and Jeff Beck. Do a search and you’ll find a number of videos primarily from Gilmourish.com. The pedal is based on the design of the 1971 Colorsound Overdriver but has one major change, an added volume control. The builder suggests this has landed to a much more usable pedal compared to the original.

I terms of tone this guy is transparent. The treble and bass will boost those signals but damn does it not colour the sound at all. I honestly haven’t heard a pedal that can be plugged in and turned on that doesn’t add a little colour. Tone √

The drive control and sound of the pedal is wonderful. It responds to the playing dynamics almost like an amp. Play softly and the grit will disappear, play hard and the dirt will thicken up. Dynamics √

How does it play with others? Pretty damn well. As mentioned in my previous post this pedal has become a bit of a utility knife on the board for getting the slight amp breakup to driving other pedals. I almost find that I keep this pedal on more than off. Stacking √

For those looking for a more in-depth take on whether this is a true replica of the Colorsound, I honestly can’t speak to that. I can say that this is the best overdrive pedal I have ever played. It kills almost everything else I’ve ever played. I guess I lucked out on this one!

Leave a Reply

